Our Lovely World

Reflections, Blessings & Gratitude

The Royal Wedding Cake – and Flower Symbols

Now I am not a royalist or anything else in particular, but I do love cake, biscuits and ice-cream. If you don’t like the Royals or the idea of the monarchy, then don’t read this post. However, speaking for myself, I was eager to see William and Kate’s wedding cake and here it is “all rights reserved by the British Monarchy.” Go to the Flickr album below to see the cake in all its facets. Interestingly, it has 17 different flower designs symbolic of various things as can be seen at the following list.

The “Lunchtime Reception” page of the official website (link below) lists the lunch menu for the 650 guests and the happy newly married couple. I am sure Diana would have been around in spirit. I wonder how I can get a piece of that cake? Can I please have my cake, and eat it too?

The wedding cake, designed by Fiona Cairns, was made from 17 individual fruit cakes (12 of which form the base)  and has eight tiers.

The cake has been decorated with cream and white icing using the Joseph Lambeth technique.

White Rose – National symbol of England

Daffodil – National symbol of Wales, new beginnings

Shamrock – National symbol of Ireland

Thistle – National symbol of Scotland

Acorns, Oak Leaf – Strength, endurance

Myrtle – Love

Ivy – Wedded Love, Marriage

Lily-of-the-Valley – Sweetness, Humility

Rose (Bridal) – Happiness, Love

Sweet William – Grant me one smile

Honeysuckle – The Bond of Love

Apple Blossom – Preference, Good Fortune

White Heather – Protection, Wishes will come true

Jasmine (White) – Amiability

Daisy – Innocence, Beauty, Simplicity

Orange Blossom – Marriage, Eternal Love, Fruitfulness

Lavender – ardent attachment, devotion, success, and luck.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/britishmonarchy/5669103365/in/set-72157626482739185/

http://www.officialroyalwedding2011.org/blog/2011/April/29/The-Lunchtime-Reception

Comments are closed.