Our Lovely World

Reflections, Blessings & Gratitude

The Roaring 20s Flappers

Leave a comment

FlapperPhoto Credit

The last post includes head shots of me at my work Christmas Function this year.  I am wearing a beautiful fun red dress from the Roaring 20s, as worn by the “Flappers”. Work had kindly organised a Pixie Foto booth thing where two at a time had portrait shots taken and each were given a strip of 4 small photos.  Photos were supplied on a CD also.  Props were supplied too but of course I didn’t need any.

I like to make an effort and dress up a little for these gatherings which I find pleasant enough with a relaxed air abetted by plenty of alcoholic drinks for many present, except myself as I can only manage half a glass of wine, LOL.

There used to be a guy from our Computer department whom was a great “amateur” photographer and would take all sorts of photos at our past functions, but he left about a month ago.  This year I noted with interest that not one person from my workplace took any photos this month, even with the number of mobile phones abounding – not even me.

If I had my way, I would have given my own mobile phone to someone to take a profile photo of me.  But, to my surprise, my HTC Wildfire mobile phone had gone completely dead recently.   One morning I tried to recharge it but nothing happened.  It needs a new battery!

As an aside here, because I have been so busy and not got around to getting a new battery for my mobile phone,  I began using my beloved iPod to set my daily alarm to wake me up on work days.  My partner suggested that I set the Alarm to the “Rocky” theme song, which I think is a great idea!

Anyhow, I got my Red Flapper Dress from   Costume Collections   complete with red “boa” and headband, and I love it.

The term “flapper” first appeared in Great Britain after World War I.  It was there used to describe young girls, still somewhat awkward in movement who had not yet entered womanhood. In the June 1922 edition of the Atlantic Monthly, G. Stanley Hall described looking in a dictionary to discover what the evasive term “flapper” meant:

[T]he dictionary set me right by defining the word as a fledgling, yet in the nest, and vainly attempting to fly while its wings have only pinfeathers; and I recognized that the genius of ‘slanguage’ had made the squab the symbol of budding girlhood.

Flappers were women who were characterized by their choice of bobbed hair, short skirts, and their enjoyment of jazz music. They were branded as brash somewhat for their enjoyment of drinking, immoderate makeup, driving cars and smoking.

In America, the image of the Flapper was something of a direct result of the popular disgust among Americans at the Prohibition laws.

In addition to all their notorious social activities, Flappers began to have an impact on the workplace by increasingly working outside of the home, which had the effect of defying the traditional roles of women in U.S. society.  Politically, they were also somewhat active in the sense that they were supporters of both women’s rights as well as voting.

Flappers and women in general began to increasingly cling to new concepts like personal choice and consumerism while ridding themselves of rigid and older ideas about the role of women. Flappers were frequently referred to in the context of a culture war of the anti-traditional versus the traditional.  In this way, flappers were increasingly being regarded as a symbol of the larger, societal change that was underfoot, such as the first time women were permitted to vote in the U.S. on 18 August 1920.

Did you know that women in Australia, apart from Aboriginal women, were first allowed to vote in Australia in 1902?   Now, the Suffragettes, they are another fascinating collective of women.

Back to the “Flapper” culture before I start a tirade about Indigenous rights here in Australia.  Here are photos of my 10 inch Madame Alexander “Flapper” Doll.   If you type the description just mentioned into eBay you’ll probably find some of these Dolls in different colour outfits.  Of course, I LOVE my red Flapper Doll and my red costume.   They said at work that red suits me, and I had a load of fun dressing up.

Madame Alexander Flapper Doll1

Madme Alexander Flapper Doll2

 

Madame Alexander Flapper Doll4

Madame Alexander Flapper Doll5

If you would like a look at my other Madame Alexander Dolls, click  HERE  to see my other post.

Author: Star Wise

Bookaholic and Peace-aholic, and Animal lover, I try to spread peace and fairness for all, and appreciation of, and proper use of the wonderful world we live in. Mitakuye Oyasin - we are all related.

Leave a Reply

